Sonny Simmons, master saxophonist Home News The Sonny Simmons story Discography and sessionography Archives Links

Artists | Where to find Sonny Simmons stuff ? Record companies and stores | Photos | Discographies, methodology | Forums | General resources and interviews | Some friends

Artists :

homeboy music, our co-producer : www.homeboy-music.com

Michael Marcus : www.michaelmarcusjazz.com

Bobby Few : www.bobby-few.com

Charlie Collins : hwww.myspace.com/charlievibe

Bert Wilson : www.bertwilson.com

Juma Sultan (Juma's Archive) : http://www.clarkson.edu/projects/jumasarchive/

Art Lewis : www.artlewisdrums.com

Vince Wallace, Oakland jazz legend and friend of Sonny Simmons : www.vincewallace.com

Anthony Braxton (Braxton House) : www.wesleyan.edu/music/braxton/braxtonhouse/

Denis Charles : www.denischarles.com

Makanda Ken McIntyre : www.mkmjazz.com


Where to find Sonny Simmons stuff ? Record companies and stores :

The Downtown Music Gallery : www.downtownmusicgallery.com/Main/index.htm
Bruce Lee Gallanter strongly supports Sonny Simmons’ releases ; check his excellent reviews in DMG’s catalog.

Touché Records, home of the dedicated producer James Bronson, Jr. : www.toucherecordings.com

FMO (Dr. Wheelz’ Archives), home of sax legend Bert Wilson : www.bertwilson.com

Jazzaway Records : www.jazzaway.com, on-line store at www.jazzaway.musiconline.no

Not Two Records : www.nottwo.com

Arhoolie : www.arhoolie.com

Disques Futura et Marge : http://futuramarge.free.fr/

CIMP : www.cadencebuilding.com (Cadence also distributes Global Jungle and Jeff Shurdut’s productions)

Fantasy Inc. : www.fantasyjazz.com

ESP-Disk’: www.espdisk.com

Soul Note : www.blacksaint.com

Boxholder : www.boxholderrecords.com, products available at The Jazz Loft : www.jazzloft.com

Parallactic is housed by Cafépress : www.cafepress.com/cathodestore

Drimala : www.drimala.com (OK, no Simmons stuff, but one of the coolest album Michael Marcus ever produced, and a bio of Michael).

Ayler Records : www.ayler.com

Polish Jazz Network sells the Not Two albums : www.polishjazz.com. Sonny Simmons and the Cosmosamatics can count on a strong base of dedicated fans in Eastern Europe (especially Poland) and Scandinavia.

Une info utile pour les fans parisiens : les volumes du Sonny Simmons Archives Project sont en vente chez Jussieu Jazz, 5 rue Guy de la Brosse, 75005 PARIS (métro Jussieu). www.jussieumusic.com


Photos :

Jazz Passion (www.positifs.org/jazz-passion/), the late Dr. Gilbert Maurisson’ work of love, is still maintained by the dedicated Christian Boullangier. Incredible and exclusive photos available at http://www.positifs.org/jazz-passion/3-temoignetdocs/B-Simm.htm.

Daniel Lebée, who provided some of the fine pictures on the homepage, has his own website. Don’t forget to check it at http://daniel.lebee.free.fr/.

Downtown Music : www.downtownmusic.net


Discographies, methodology :

David Wild's Wildplace at wildmusic-jazz.com includes a great discography of John Coltrane : http://home.att.net/~dawild/

Rick Lopez’s sessionographies, gigographies and discographies (Sam Rivers, David S. Ware, William Parker, A.R. Penck…) at the Whole Shebang : www.velocity.net/~bb10k/

George Scala’s discographies (Billy Bang, Ed Blackwell, Bobby Few, Milford Graves, David Izenzon, Jeanne Lee, Frank Lowe, Charles Moffett, Sunny Murray, Roswell Rudd, Alan Silva, Sirone, Frank Wright…) at Free Jazz Research : www.mindspring.com/~scala/

Jason Hook’s Cecil Taylor Online Sessionography at www.webmutations.com/ceciltaylor/

Karl-Michael Schneider’s discography of Marion Brown at www.fmi.uni-passau.de/~schneide/marion_brown/

Joe Moudry’s discography of Sun Ra at Saturn Web : Sun Ra, The Arkestra & Free Jazz : www.dpo.uab.edu/~moudry/

Johann Haidenbauer’s List of issued records by Don Cherry at RoJac (Robert’s Jazz Corner) : www.geocities.com/BourbonStreet/Quarter/7055/Cherry/index.htm

Pelle Kassman’s Don Cherry unofficial & unissued recordings at http://members.chello.se/kassman/doncherry.htm

Vincent Bessière’s Bebop, hard bop and beyond... recherches sur l'histoire du jazz : http://perso.wanadoo.fr/hardbop/

Jason Guthartz’ discography of Anthony Braxton at Restructures, Creative Music Forum : www.restructures.net


Forums :

www.freejazz.org : Extremely insightful...

Organissimo Jazz Forums - The place to discuss the band, jazz, and more! www.organissimo.org/forum/index.php

All About Jazz’ Jazz Bulletin Board : http://forums.allaboutjazz.com/


General resources and interviews :

Red Scott Yanow’s excellent reviews at All-Music Guide (AMG) : www.allmusic.com

Various interviews with Sonny Simmons and Michael Marcus at All About Jazz : www.allaboutjazz.com

Jazz Weekly (Creative Music and Other Forms of Avant-Garde) at www.jazzweekly.com. Notably the “A Fireside Chat with” series has a famous Sonny Simmons interview.

Jazzmatazz, the best place to find information on upcoming CD's and useful links : www.Jazzmatazz.info

Improjazz : http://perso.wanadoo.fr/improjazz/

Taran’s Free Jazz Hour : www.tfjh.blogspot.com

Crossnotes, excellent annuaire français (french, but include links to english-speaking websites) : www.crossnotes.net

Diapazon (polish website) : www.diapazon.pl

www.sacem.fr

www.sdrm.fr

www.sesam.org


Some friends :

Qbico (hi EP!) : www.qbicorecords.com

Gene Janas and his various and wonderful free-jazz friends : www.vorg.net and www.myspace.com/kabloona. Keep rockin' guys.

Benjamin Duboc : http://benjamin.duboc.free.fr/ (par notre designer)

 

Home | News | Biography | Discography | Links